FMP Week 2

FMP – RESEARCH PLAN Approx. No of Words
Interest/Topic/Theme 50
I will be researching into Storytelling and Narrative; particularly in to how teenage characters are represented in film
Why is it important? – Importance 100
I feel that teenage characters are often either misrepresented or underdeveloped in film. Whether that be due to lack of knowledge or general negligence I think the characters are difficult to relate to at a different age and so I want to be able to represent them properly.

 

My progress and achievements throughout the course (write about knowledge, skills and how this influenced your choices during the course) 200
Throughout this course I have learnt a number of skills and an extensive amount of knowledge about filmmaking and the film industry. I have always had a keen interest in “Coming of Age” films, and so as my knowledge has increased in narrative and scriptwriting over the past 2 years; I have realised that some practitioners can create teenage characters effectively, whereas most characters will often feel underdeveloped and misrepresented. I have exponentially increased my camera, sound and lighting skills since the beginning of this course, and throughout, as my confidence has grown, I have found myself taking the position of Director more and more, as I like to be in charge of the set I am on so I can create the product as I see fit.

 

Literature (Proposed Sources – Harvard Format) 200
Louise O’Neill. (2015). How do you write for teenagers?. Available: https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/2015/oct/23/how-do-you-write-for-teenagers. Last accessed 21/03/2017.

 

Boyhood. Texas, USA: Richard Linklater, 2014. DVD.

 

Fresh Air. (2014). Filmed Over 12 Years, ‘Boyhood’ Follows A Kid’s Coming Of Age. Available: http://www.npr.org/2014/07/10/330291891/filmed-over-12-years-boyhood-follows-a-kids-coming-of-age. Last accessed 21/03/2017.

 

Ramin Setoodeh. (2016). Richard Linklater on the Long Road to Make ‘Everybody Wants Some!!’. Available: http://variety.com/2016/film/news/richard-linklater-everybody-wants-some-dazed-and-confused-1201731914/. Last accessed 22/03/2017.

 

Dazed And Confused. Texas, USA: Richard Linklater, 1993. DVD.

 

Lydia Sharp. (2013). Writing From an Authentic Teen Viewpoint. Available: https://writeitsideways.com/writing-from-an-authentic-teen-viewpoint/. Last accessed 22/03/2017.

 

Fast Times At Ridgemont High. California, USA: Amy Heckerling, 1982. DVD.

 

 

My research questions (What I am trying to find out?) 100
·       What films have represented teenage characters properly

·       Which Directors and Writers have consistently developed teenage characters extensively and how can I learn from them

·       Which Directors and Writers have not developed teenage characters well and what can I learn about how not to build the characters

Research Design (methods) 100
I will be holding focus groups to find out peoples views on the representation in media of teenage characters and what can be done to represent them better. I also want to do secondary research into films with well-developed teenage characters to see how that practitioner made that character. It’s important not solely focus on existing films, and so I want to look at how teenage characters are developed in novels too.

 

·       Focus Groups

·       Interviews

·       Surveys

·       Observation

·       Books

·       Journals

·       Advertising

·       Film + TV

·       Internet

·       Magazines

·       Photography

 

How will this research help me with my product? 200
It’s important for me to look at existing media products to gain an understanding of how what I’m interested in looking at has been produced in the past. I will learn more about how to produce an effective script and what kind of traits make a good and bad teenage character.

 

 

 

 

 

Project Action Plan and Timetable
Week Date Week Beginning Activity / What you are intending to do – including independent study

 

Resources / What you will need to do it – including access to workshops

 

1 13th March 17 Observation Study Camera
2 20th March 17 Timeline – Skills learnt

Research Plan

Computer

portfolio0121

FMP Week 2

Leave a comment