Unit 11

Task 1.1 Critical Evaluation

asnwer

thingys

This career test told me a range of things about my personality. I am apparently 68% extraverted compared to 32% Introverted. Now I think I am somewhat of an extravert but I wouldn’t say it was 68-32 more like 55-45. This means that I prefer to be around people and working in groups over working by myself. The test also gave me a list of career relevant traits, and surprisingly I really agree with the list. I believe I have good communication skills and I like to be the leader of a group over working under somebody. I am not particularly good with deadlines and so the point about schedules, routines and detailed tasks fits for me.

I was also supplied with a brief summary of who I am and what I do in certain situations. I again find this description quite accurate, as it does fairly encapsulate who I am and what I do in certain situations.

career

Included in the test also came a list of possible career paths. This list was really interesting to me as it has items that are nothing to do with my current career path, however I have a real interest in. For instance I follow politics very heavily and i’m really interested in it. If I wasn’t planning on becoming a filmmaker then perhaps that would be a route i’d be taking. It’s relatively strange that Photographer (basically filmmaker) and politician would come up on the same list as they seem like very different jobs to me. However, perhaps they require the same sort of person to do them.

The career that I want to end up in is an Editor. Although quite a specific role in the film industry there are a lot of different types of editing roles to go for. For instance Visual Effects, special effects, offline editing and online editing. I wouldn’t mind starting off in a more amatuer role like a runner and working my way up to being an editor. Even though i’m more of an extroverted person I still like to be by myself and edit.

Career Timeline

timeline

Task 1.2  Progression

Personal Statement:

Film sculpts and defines our media, news and culture. Films can change people’s opinions, political views and emotions and this is what particularly interests me. I’m applying to this course to gain a deeper understanding of the film production process and learn more about the theory and history of cinema. My interest in creative media has only increased since volunteering to help film my school’s sports day four years ago, ever since then film has become my main focus and passion in my education and home life.

One of the highlights of my career so far was reaching out to the Smugglers festival and being commissioned to help film at the 2015 event. I also had the opportunity to be an extra on the set of an independent feature film named “Jellyfish”. It was a great opportunity to experience life on a real set and see the difference between how I run my own productions and how a professional director does.

Unfortunately, the grammar school I attended until year 11 didn’t run a media GCSE and so everything I learnt up until that point was self-taught. I began making films in 2012 for my YouTube channel and since then have amassed over 1.2 million views in total. I began making short comedy films with my friends and over time gained skills and began to create more serious and well-made videos. Starting off with Movie Maker and Sony Vegas I taught myself essential software to help me with filmmaking. Since then I’ve learnt to use professional software like Avid Media Composer, Adobe Premiere Pro and Photoshop. I have always had a particular interest in editing and so learning and mastering new and interesting software always appeals to me.

I’m currently studying UAL level 3 Film & TV Production. I chose to leave secondary school and partake in this course as I knew it had been specifically tailored to be as creative and practical as a course at that level can be. The course allowed me to learn a whole host of new skills like Avid, Three-point lighting setups, Framing and Composition and utilising them in my final major project. I am keen to learn more about film theory and feel that will be given more time and depth at university. Alongside film I have a keen interest in photography shooting both dry and wet. It’s important to have an understanding of photography to be a filmmaker, as there is so much overlap in framing, lighting and composition that it’s important to understand and appreciate it.

I took part in the Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award and during that time I volunteered at a local Salvation Army Community Centre.  This was an amazing opportunity for me to help my local community. On the expedition I found myself demonstrating key leadership and problem solving skills in a new and unknown environment.

At school my favourite subject had always been history, and that in turn has transferred into my love of film. I have a particular interest in historical pieces of film like The Birth of a Nation (1915, D. W. Griffith) and Triumph of the Will (1935, Leni Riefenstahl) and how they show a different era of time in cinema, furthermore, how propaganda can be used in films to glorify or lionize a certain group like the KKK or the Nazi Party.

I have been working in a coffee shop for the past 2 years and it’s given me a wide range of skills, for instance, communication, solving problems independently, time keeping and keeping calm under pressure. This is the most important skill I have learned as sometimes things can get hectic and out of control and it’s vital to keep calm and focus on the task at hand.

University would be an excellent place for me to expand and improve on my current practical skills and an opportunity to meet and converse with new and interesting people from all cultures around the world. I want to create not just great films but films that are individual, conceptual and captivating; that are effected by my experiences and personality. Together, with my own independent learning I believe you can help me do that.

University Arts London (First)

This university seemed like an obvious choice for an application, as they run the current course that i’m doing at college. Having thoroughly enjoyed the course it made sense to look at this university. When I attended the open day I knew instantly it was the place for me. The lecturers inspired me, the students were so helpful and I loved the campus. The course layout was exactly the kind of course I was looking for, as it was very practical based. The statistics for students being in employment 6 months after graduation was very high and that impressed me.

Arts University Bournemouth (Insurance)

This university had always been recommended to me as one of the top film universities in the whole country. The course was very enticing and sounded like it would fit me very well. One thing about this uni that i was worried about was the statistics about lecturers. They were surprisingly negative after all the good recommendations I had had. It was said that people thought the lecturers weren’t helpful and only 37% thought they were helpful. However, the statistics for students getting jobs out of the university were higher than UAL and one of the highest I saw anywhere. This made me think it may be worth going if I’m almost guaranteed a job after.

Queen’s University Belfast (Withdrawn)

I looked at this university because I have an uncle who is a lecturer on the film studies course there. he recommended the university to me and so I thought it would be a good idea to go there and have a look. When I looked around I loved the campus, however when I spoke to the lecturer I was really unimpressed and he seemed like he didn’t know anything about the technical aspects of filmmaking. This made me think that the course may have been too theory based for what I want. Therefore I ended up withdrawing my offer once i got the offers from UAL and AUB as they looked like better choices.

Progression Routes

Traditional route – This is going into the film industry by an apprenticeship or internship. The benefits of an apprenticeship over an internship is that you get paid for an apprenticeship usually. Apprenticeships are usually a lot longer than internships lasting a year or 2 compared to an internship lasting only a few weeks or months.

Non-traditional method – Getting access to the film industry by a method like social media or through gaining notoriety in short film festivals.

Using social media sites like Twitter can really helpful in finding work in the media industry. In the so-called “new media” it’s important to not just use traditional routes to find work, but to use every opportunity available. For me I use twitter as I think it’s the easiest way to connect with companies.

teit

I use my twitter account to share all the new films that I produce in college and at home, as this then increases the interaction with my official fim youtube account and increases the relation with that.

Task 1.3

My CV:

CV George

Social Media:

teit

Digital Portfolio:

My digital portfolio comes in the form of a showreel

Task 1.4 Evaluation

CV:

I like my CV, it has all the information and grades that I need on it, however it could do with more information on hobbies and interests as it is lacking. i think the formatting, font and text are all good, and they are laid out clearly. The CV is particularly important in getting a job, but becomes even more effective when added with a covering letter.

Digital Portfolio:

I think my show reel is very strong. I laid it out by having small sections of the films I am most proud of participating in. I made sure I picked the moments in which the most skill was portrayed to best show off my abilities. I also made sure to show what role I had in all of the films shown so the employer knows that part to look at.

Social Media:

I think I have the right social media accounts to attract an employer, however I have been quite inactive on them for a while and this may turn an employer off of me. if i am looking for work in the industry I need to step up my social media presence, as it will give me a better chance of finding a job.

Unit 11

Leave a Reply

