2.1

Who am I?

In this task we had to create a mind map around ourselves, who we are and what our interests are.

IMG_20160412_142827JUFRHTEDFG

I did quite enjoy this task as it allowed The mind map was meant to contain things that we both liked and disliked. It’s quite difficult to talk about things that you really don’t like, as I think it would be difficult to show via pictures that you really hate heavy metal music.  I did sneak in a picture of Adam Sandler who has made some of the worst movies ever created. I put Kanye West in a love heart in the middle because he’s my favourite artist.

In this task we had to talk about who we were. It is similar in a way to the mind map that we did, as we are talking about ourselves, however we were meant to talk more about our personality and our physical appearance. I found this task really quite difficult surprisingly as it is quite difficult to talk about yourself without just saying what you’re interested in. This is sort of what I ended up doing.

I was sort of surprised about what Declan said to me, as sometimes I think I’m not the most confident person in class and could speak out more, but I have been working on it recently. I think Declan is right, as most of the films I’ve made in and out of college so far have been comedies, as I feel that’s what I’m good at and what I’ve done the most. Therefore for my Final Major Project I might try and lean away from the comedy and create something more serious to test my skills and abilities.

If I were to do these tasks again I’d spend a little more time planning what I was going to say before I filmed myself, as I think I could have done it better a lot better. I would also ask more questions about what the task was so that I had a better understanding of what we were meant to be doing.

Homework:

From what Declan said about me in the previous task I think that I should try and do something more serious instead of the usual route of comedy that I seem to go down. I’ve been tinkering around the idea of a found footage film, as some found footage films are some of my favourite ever films like Chronicle and Cloverfield. However so far I haven’t made any final decisions on genre or story and am keeping my options open until I’ve done some more research.

mind map


Research Plan

The 4 different interests that I’ll be looking at are Music, Film, Gaming and History

What I will research into:

Music:

Find out about the origins of big British festivals (Reading, Glastonbury)

Visitor numbers

Find out more information about global festivals

What was the first modern music festival?

Why?: I need to find out further information about music festivals and the history of them to find out potential things that I could make a film about

eSports:

The origins of eSport competitions and tournaments

How eSports have changed since the beginning

When did eSports become more of a spectator sport than just competitions

Why?: I need to find out more information about the origins of eSports, as it is information that I currently don’t know much about. Therefore I wouldn’t feel comfortable choosing to make a film about this interest before I know all the facts about it.

History:

Find out more about Dover Castle in World War 2

What other uses have been for Dover Castle except World War 2?

Would people care about a film about WW2 in the local area?

Why?: I need to find out what people think about the potential of a film set in or about World War 2 to see if it is something that people would be interested in and would like to watch.

Sci-fi film:

Look into some more local based sci-fi films

Research into the first sci-fi films that I already know some information about

How has sci-fi changed since the dawn of film compared to today

Why?: If I look into some more local based Sci-fi films I can find out if making a film that usually requires a lot of visual effects is feasible to make on a low budget in the local area.

Music

For music I really like going to festivals at the moment. I’ve been to Glastonbury a few times, but recently I’ve gone to some more local festivals like the Smugglers Festival just outside of Deal. I actually did some filming for the event last year which was good fun and some worthwhile experience. There are festivals globally that look like great places to attend like Coachella in America and Tomorrowland in Belgium. The festivals that are local to here don’t really have any big bands or large crowds compared to some bigger more global festivals. This makes them more of a chilled out atmosphere compared to a larger festival where you might be rushing around to see multiple bands.

Primary

  • Have you ever been to a music festival?

Person #1: “no I haven’t; I’ve only been to see live bands in pubs and bars”

Person #2: “Yes I go to Glastonbury most years and have been to some smaller ones in the local area aswell”

  • Would you prefer to go to a local or a bigger more global music festivals?

Person #1: “Probably more of a local one”

Person #2: “I prefer to go to local festivals, as it is more chilled out than a big festival; it’s less mainstream and much easier to get to usually”

  • Do you think a documentary style or a short film would be better for a music festival setting?

Person #1: I think that a documentary about music festivals could be really interesting, as I don’t know a lot about music festivals apart from what artists play at them.

Person #2: Yeah I think a documentary would be a cool idea too, but if you could make a short film it could be really good in that setting.

Secondary

I thought I’d start off with this research by looking into how arguably the biggest music festival in the UK came to be.

1970Poster

(Digital, 1997)

This is the original poster for the first ever Glastonbury Festival. I find this poster really interesting due to the fact that The Kinks played a festival in which (Glastonburyfestivals, 2016) the attendance was 1,500 people. The Kinks were such an influential and important band in that era it seems crazy they played at such a small festival.

eSports

I’m quite interested in the professional gaming community at the moment. Recently eSports have become hugely popular around the world; stadium events sell out all over the world, however it’s not very big in the UK at the moment so its more of a global thing. I don’t know that much about the start of eSports and who were the first teams to play and the first games to be played so that is something that I can do more research into. The recent League of Legends final had over 100,000 people in the stadium and more than 23 million viewers watching on platforms like Twitch. The prize pool for the tournament was over $2.1 million with the winner taking $1 million between the team. There isn’t as much local gaming as there used to be due to the rise of the internet and the ability to play with anyone globally at the click of the button. In South Korea I know that the main sports channel is actually an eSports channel and is watched massively  like any normal sport game would be here in the UK.

http://www.mcvuk.com/news/read/understanding-esports-a-brief-history-of-esports/0143925

http://www.wired.com/1993/06/netrek/

Primary

  • What do you think of eSports?

Person #1: “I’ve never seen one”

Person #2: “it’s very entertaining; I prefer it to watching normal sports”

  • (If negative) Would you be interested in watching an eSports match?

Person #1: “Yes”

Person #2: N/A

  • Do you think eSports can ever become as big as traditional sports? and why?

Person #1: “I don’t know a lot about eSports, but think it can, as it’s pretty much the same principle as traditional sports in people watching something they enjoy being played competitively”

Person #2: “I do think it can be, because when I’ve been watching a cs:go pro game I get more excited than I get watching Football. It has the same feel to it as an actual sport and a big enough community to become even bigger than traditional sports.”

Secondary

eSports is the term used for professional gaming tournaments around the world. I want to find out about the origins of eSports and how they’ve progressed since the beginning.

I thought that I’d start my research by looking into the first ever online game. I came across an article from the website Wired from 1993 talking about a game called Netrek.(Kelly, 1993) “I like to think of Netrek as the first online sports game” I found out that the first online game that you could play on a server with friends was Netrek. The game is loosely based on Star Trek and was quite popular at the time with “5000 people…find their way to a couple of nodes on the net and pick up a game of Netrek”. This was the first online game, however it wasn’t played competitively. I looked further into that era and found out that “the release of Doom on December 10, 1993 marked the popularization of first person shooter as a competitive eSports genre” (wikipedia, 2016) The game was gory and revolutionized the genre of first person shooters. In 1995 Microsoft held an offline Doom II tournament for PC players. It was called Deathmatch ’95 and “has defined eSports competitions since”. I believe that this was the first modern eSports tournament ever. This doesn’t mean however that it was the first gaming tournament, as I found this article about a space invaders tournament.

NY-Space-Invaders-Super-Bowl

(Retroist, 2013)

History

I’m also quite interested in History, specifically World War 2, as I think a lot of the stories and battles are interesting and I enjoy reading and learning about them. Some of my top 5 favorite movies include Schindler’s List and Saving Private Ryan which are based during the conflict. I’ve visited a concentration camp in Berlin before called Sachsenhausen which was a strange experience to say the least, but it was really interesting to learn about what the prisoners went through and how the camps were run. This is more global compared to learning about stories that happened more locally like the defense of the UK at Dover Castle and the wartime tunnels. I’d like to potentially learn some more about what happened at Dover during the war and the effect it had on the local area.

  • Find out more about Dover Castle in World War 2
  • What other uses have been for Dover Castle except World War 2?

Primary

  • Do you think it’s still important for people to learn about history in schools?

Person #1: “I think so, because then we can learn where we came from”

Person #2: “Yes, because it’s interesting”

  • Would a film about local history in WW2 interest you?

Person #1: I think it would be cool to have a film done about things in the area around here, as we know the places and it would be interesting to know about the history of them.

Person #2: “I’m not really that interested in World War 2, but I’d probably watch it if it was about locations near to me.”

Secondary

I looked up the English Heritage website for Dover Castle, as from my previous knowledge I know that they run Dover Castle at the moment. I found out some useful information about Dover Castle in WW2 (English Heritage, 2016) “Napoleonic tunnels were brought back into service in the Second World War… It was from here that in May 1940 Vice-Admiral Bertram Ramsay organised the extraordinary evacuation of British troops from Dunkirk”. I also found this current day map of the whole site: Capture(English Heritage, 2015)

I found this map really interesting, as it shows how the castle has changed throughout it’s lifetime and what has been added at every different stage through history.

I thought that I’d look further into the tunnels located underneath the castle and found out about (Corey Charlton, 2015) some tunnels that were recently re-opened to the public after being filled in in the 1970s. Here are 2 pictures from the tunnels:

tunnel

(Daily Mail, 2015)

2AAAD0B600000578-0-image-a-41_1437335926957

(Daily Mail, 2015)

I particularly like the second picture, as it is graffiti from the people who built the tunnel in 1940 and helps us to understand the thoughts and feelings of the people who were there at the time.

I also wanted to look into what other uses the castle has had apart from World War 2. I found out (English Heritage, 2016) that the tunnels were used in the Cold War for planning of how to organise life in the event of a nuclear attack.

Sci-fi film

Lastly I have a real passion for film, and specifically I really like sci-fi. I am a huge fan of Star Wars and other films like Interstellar, Attack the Block and 2001: A Space Odyssey. This isn’t something that is typically produced at all locally, as sci-fi films often require a large budget, due to the high CGI and visual effects costs, and so are only really made in Hollywood, however Attack the Block was a British made film, although there isn’t a lot of cgi at all except the aliens themselves. I’d like to learn more about the origins of sci-fi to see where it all started, for instance I believe that one of the first sci-fi films was about a rocket journey to the moon, however I’d need to do more research on this.

Primary

  •  Do you like Sci-fi movies much?

Person #1: “I don’t mind them, but to be honest I wouldn’t really choose to watch one if I had the option to watch something different.”

Person #2: “Sci-fi is one of my favourite genres. Whenever there’s something Sci-fi or space related on at the cinema I try to watch it.”

  • Would you watch a locally made Sci-fi movie?

Person #1: “Yeah don’t see why not”

Person #2: “Yes, probably”

  • Do you prefer Sci-fi movies to be set in the present or in the future?

Person #1: “I don’t really mind to be honest; it depends on how good the film is.”

Person #2: “The future I guess, as you get to see much more advanced technology in the film”

Secondary

I thought I’d start off my research by looking into the first ever sci-fi film. The film that I was talking about was called “Le Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip to the Moon). The film was created by Georges Méliès in 1902 by far the most popular film that Georges Méliès ever made; he actually made 530 short films between the 1890s and 1920s. Here is a quote from Elisabeth Thuillier (Sensesofcinema, 2012)”I coloured all of M. Méliès’ films. The colouring was done entirely by hand. I had 200 people employed in my workshop. I passed my nights selecting and sampling colours. In the daytime, the workers applied the colours according to my instructions. Each specialized worker took responsibility for one particular colour. There were often over twenty (specialized workers) …” They painted every single frame on about 50 reels of the film and was a revolutionary way to colour films at the time. The effects that are used in this film are very good for the time considering there were no green screens or computer effects it’s truly amazing they were able to produce what they did.

Reflection on Research plan

I found this task quite challenging at the start, as I couldn’t really understand the question that was given to us. I had it explained to me a few times before I fully understood what I was doing. This did however mean that I’d wasted quite a lot of time on the task and so I overran on a lot on the time we had for the task. The task itself wasn’t too difficult once I got started and I was able to quite easily write a research plan so I know what I’m going to look into specifically tomorrow; so that I have some general direction for my research.


 Reflection on Primary & Secondary Research

I found this task much easier than the previous one. Once I had my interests written down it was much easier to talk about them. I found out a lot of information that I didn’t know about. Especially about eSports and the origins of the tournaments which I found quite interesting. I got some good answers from the interviews and focus groups that I did in class that I was able to use for my primary research.

Bibliography:

Corey Charlton. 2015. Inside the secret tunnels of the White Cliffs of Dover: Network built to help stop Nazi ships during WWII opens to the public after being hidden for 40 years. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3167510/Secret-network-tunnels-constructed-White-Cliffs-Dover-help-stop-German-ships-moving-freely-Channel-World-War-II-reopens-public-time-40-years.html. [Accessed 24 April 2016]

Digital, P.G. (1997) Glastonbury festival – 1970. Available at: http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/history/history-1970/ (Accessed: 21 June 2016).

English Heritage. 2016. History of Dover Castle. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/dover-castle/history/. [Accessed 22 April 2016]

Kevin Kelly. 1993. The First Online Sports Game. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.wired.com/1993/06/netrek/. [Accessed 19 April 2016]

Retroist. 2013. ‘Space Invaders’ revel at New York superbowl. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.retroist.com/2013/05/20/it-is-1980-and-the-national-space-invaders-tournament-finals-is-approaching/. [Accessed 20 April 2016]

Senseofcinema. 2012. ‘Chromatic Frankenstein’s Monsters?’: Restoration, Colour and Variants of Georges Méliès’s Voyage dans la Lune’ [ONLINE] Available at: http://sensesofcinema.com/2012/feature-articles/chromatic-frankensteins-monsters-restoration-colour-and-variants-of-georges-meliess-voyage-dans-la-lune/#19. [Accessed 20 April 2016]

Wikipedia. 2016. List of eSports Games. [ONLINE] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_esports_games#Doom.                                         [Accessed 19 April 2016]

 

 

 

 

2.1

One thought on “2.1

  1. FEEDBACK FROM JENNI B 26.4.16 – Week 2 LO2.1 – P
    George, good work, you have clearly reviewed a range of research to help you decide what you are going to produce for your project. Your Harvard Referencing is not quite correct. We will be discussing this in class, as you are not the only person to not have done it totally correctly. This submission is just a merit – but you are heading in the right direction. Make your reflective log more about what you have learnt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

