Week 3: Work Produced

Audio Task: Recording 5 Different Sounds

Audio Task Steven

We recorded sounds for Nature, Technology, Creativity, Rhythm, and Education.

I found that when I set the levels correctly the audio was very clear when recording inside; this can be seen on the technology recording where there was little to no background noise, however if you listen to the nature recording there is a lot of wind and general background noise. I believe this is because I had to turn the gain up due to being far away from the birds and so my audio quality suffered a lot. In retrospect I should have tried to get closer or find another subject to record. I researched into recording audio outside and found this website: http://sound-effects.wonderhowto.com/how-to/record-outdoor-audio-216893/, it had a lot of useful information about recording outside. One element I should consider is using a mic muff/windshield to cancel out the wind and background noise. He also talked about when filming ambient audio for a scene to always film enough to cover the entire scene, instead of just roughly how much you think you’ll need; which was helpful.

Before this task I felt I needed to do more work on recording dialogue, but with this task I did record some dialogue for the education recording so now I feel a little more confident, as that came out with little to no background noise. I would still like to do some more practice with a boom mic however.

I did some further research into recording dialogue and this website came up: http://www.indie-film-making.com/recording-dialogue/ one section says “Lavaliers are the small mics that clip to a tie or shirt and can be either wireless or wired. These are generally suitable for interview-style filmmaking, but you’re not going to want one hanging off your talent while you film action shots or dialogue during a dramatic scene”[1]. This is helpful for me as I would like to have a lot of interviews in my production and so getting some lavaliers would be very useful. I looked into the prices of lavaliers and at http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2/278-2738274-8127626?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=lavalier you can buy one for under £7 and so if there aren’t any available at college I can buy one for relatively cheap.

I also found on the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs9eBX-61ts that “A shotgun mic is the standard device used to grab audio on film and television production sets.”[2] I then researched some more into microphones and found that the shotgun microphone is probably best for recording dialogue for my production when not an interview scene.

[1] Indie. (2011). Recording Dialogue. Available: http://www.indie-film-making.com/recording-dialogue/. Last accessed 19/01/2016.

[2] Videomaker. (2008). Videomaker – Outdoor Audio 2. Available at:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs9eBX-61ts. Last accessed 19/01/2016

 

Week 3: Work Produced

Leave a Reply

